First things first…

Where to start…

I’ve recently given my life a complete 360. I have quit my job, which I’ve done for the last two and a bit years since graduating, moved back in with the parents and returned to education. The experience has been exciting, scary and eye opening, however it has been 100% the right thing to do. I was working in a role which didn’t exactly set my life on fire, I excelled for a long time but I had lost my passion and it’s not a sustainable lifestyle to be working six day weeks, 12 hour days and have no enjoyment in what you are doing. I started to burn out and for a long time felt hopelessly trapped. What I wanted to do was marketing, sponsorship and PR. Having no experience in this sector, other than the odd experience I could spin into being relevant, I struggled to get the job I wanted and retain the salary I was so used to earning. It was only in August this year when the new postgraduate loan was announced that I took the leap of faith and applied to Kingston University. It has a fabulous business school and is only a short drive away, so the perfect match. Shortly after, I was accepted, handed in my notice the next day and started only a week later.

I am studying Public Relations and Corporate Communications, a world which I’ve thrown myself into and am enjoying every minute of. I have to say, the university experience certainly isn’t the same as a postgraduate – far more work and less partying but that doesn’t mean it isn’t exciting, dynamic and a great process.

Being relatively new on this career path and finding more time on my hands (just!) I thought blogging would be a great way to diversify my time this year and share some of my experiences. I am a 23 year old, from Scotland and living in London. I frequently split my time between the two cities and love both equally, for their party scenes, culture and nature spots so I’ll be keeping you up to date on the things and places I enjoy, rate or even slate!

Any questions – feel free to get in touch.

Ciao for now! B x

 

5 thoughts on “First things first…

  1. Well Edinburgh girl in London. Or should I say my wee niece Beth😳 I am so impressed with you,and happy for you. Congratulations on all your accomlishments, You also inspire me,and I’m sure many other people who read this. Follow your heart,and don’t allow anyone to steal your dreams. I will be following you. Love ya xx. Your bestest Auntie 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

